09 February 2017 9.12 AM

Record nominations received for 10th annual health awards

A record number of nominations have been received for 2gether’s latest Recognising Outstanding Service and Contribution Awards (ROSCAs), now in their tenth year.

More than 270 nominations were received for the annual awards, which recognise the dedication of the staff and volunteers who work in mental and social healthcare across Gloucestershire and Herefordshire. This year’s event will be extra special as it is the tenth year the awards have taken place.

A judging panel, consisting of service users, carers, public governors, trust management, sponsors and staff representatives, faced the difficult challenge of whittling the list down to a shortlist of just three nominations for each category.

Ruth FitzJohn, Chair of  2gether NHS Foundation Trust, who chaired the panel, said: “As usual, the standard of nominations was extremely high and this led to considerable debate among the judging panel in order to create a shortlist.

“The quality and volume of nominations is testament to the high standard of care and support provided by the dedicated individual who work and volunteer with the trust.

“Every year’s awards are special, because without our fantastic staff and volunteers, we couldn’t deliver our services across Gloucestershire and Herefordshire. However, this year is also our tenth year of the ROSCAs, and it is incredible to look back at all the previous awards and see the very strong foundations this trust is built upon.

 “I thank all of the nominees for their continued dedication, and look forward to celebrating the achievements of all of those shortlisted, as well as the long service award recipients, at our celebratory event in March.”

The nominees will be honoured at an awards ceremony on Friday 3 March, alongside their colleagues who have achieved 20, 30 or 40 years’ NHS service, totalling an impressive 1,670 years between them.

The 2016 ROSCAs are being sponsored by Alpha Colour Printers, West of England Academic Health Science Network (WEAHSN), Midcounties Co-operative and Gloucestershire Young Carers.

Mike Pickering, Community and Sustainability Manager at The Midcounties Co-operative, which is sponsoring the event, said: “Recognising the great work the staff and volunteers do to support people in Gloucestershire and Herefordshire is hugely important, which is why we’re proud to be a sponsor of the ROSCAs.

“As a co-operative, it’s essential for us to work alongside likeminded organisations, like 2gether that are making such a positive impact in the local community. We’d like to congratulate all of the nominees and wish them luck at the awards ceremony in March.”

Mandy Bell, Development Manager, Gloucestershire Young Carers, said: “The ROSCAs are about noticing those who may go unnoticed; those who quietly go above and beyond the day job to the benefit of others.

“It’s a privilege to be part of making a song and dance about the wonderfully creative and hard-working people and teams that make such a difference.”

The shortlisted teams and individuals are as follows:

Unsung Hero

  • Phoebe Coleman-Wood – Expert by Experience, Children and Young People Service, Gloucestershire
  • Cody Gingell – Volunteer at Weavers Croft
  • Kevin Hall – Volunteer, Health Records Department, Charlton Lane Hospital

Award for Innovation

  • Sharon Colley and Julie Swash – Learning Disability Nurse and Physio Technical Instructor, Herefordshire
  • Robin McCarthy – Art Psychotherapist, Herefordshire
  • Basia Snaith – Outcome and Performance Manager, Children and Young People Service Gloucestershire

Carer and Service User Involvement Award

  • Gemma Coltraro – Mulberry Ward Manager, Charlton Lane Hospital
  • Gloucestershire Recovery in Psychosis (GRiP) Team
  • The Managing Memory Service, Gloucestershire

Valuing Diversity

  • Children and Young People Service/Learning Disability Team
  • Simon Shorrick and Lorraine Peters – The Health Facilitation Team, Gloucestershire
  • Jonathon Thomas – Community Services Manager, South Locality, Gloucestershire

Best Supporting Colleague

  • Dr Simon Christopherson – Consultant Psychiatrist, Avon House, Gloucestershire
  • Martin Foster – Crisis Assessment Home Treatment Team, Stonebow Unit
  • Natasha Wallace – Unit Administration Manager, Honeybourne and Non-Medical Prescribing Administrator

Best Supporting Manager

  • Rob Blagden – IMT Programme Manager
  • Tracy Cresswell – Willow Ward, Charlton Lane Hospital
  • Ree Jefferies – Manager, Herefordshire Community Learning Disability Team

Service Users’ and Carers’ Choice

  • Vicky Mulholland – Community Mental Health Nurse, Forest of Dean Assertive Outreach Team
  • Dr Matt Stainsby – Clinical Psychologist, Herefordshire
  • Rob Phillips – Community Mental Health Nurse, Albion Chambers

Non Clinical Team of the Year

  • Administration Team, Herefordshire Community Learning Disability Team
  • Collingwood House Administration Team
  • Vocational Services,  Albion Chambers

Clinical Team of the Year

  • Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services, Herefordshire
  • Gloucester and Forest of Dean Crisis Resolution and Home Treatment Team
  • Willow Ward, Charlton Lane Hospital

The CEO Award for Outstanding Contribution

  • Bill Newton, Community Mental Health Nurse, Albion Chambers
09 February 2017 9.12 AM | Comments (0)

Rate this page

Roll over the stars and click to rate this page

Share this article



Sorry, there are no comments on this article yet.

Post a comment

Comments are moderated, and will not appear on this weblog until the author has approved them.